The Lost Little Baby

Once upon a time there lived a baby dinosaur who had lost his mother. He was a baby t-rex, and everyone knows that all the other dinosaurs hated t-rex because they had this annoying habit of eating other dinosaurs. But the baby t-rex wasn’t interested in eating anybody, he just wanted to find his mother.

He walked for a long time, out of his nest where he had hatched a few days before, all the way through the jungle, over the tree roots and under the giant brown leaves that would fall on his head, until he reached an open stretch of grass that seemed to go on for miles.

“Maybe my mummy is in here.” he said to himself. So he wandered into the field. A few steps in and t-rex saw another baby dinosaur, although he didn’t know what it was called. It had three horns sticking out of its face and walked on all fours. T-rex thought this new dinosaur looked a little bit silly, but put that out of his mind.

“Excuse me,” He called out politely, “have you seen my mummy?”

But the baby three-horned dinosaur just looked at the baby t-rex in a panic and ran away. “Well that was rude.” He said to no one in particular. And he kept walking through the field. A little while later and he found another baby dinosaur, only this one walked on two legs like he did. It was eating with a large duck like beak, scoffing the leaves that had fallen on the ground by a large tree, and didn’t panic or run away when he approached it like the three-horn had.

“Excuse me,” He called again, “have you seen my mummy?”

The duck beaked baby dinosaur looked at him and chewed slowly on its leaf.

“I don’t think so.” It said, and the t-rex knew from how it spoke that it was a girl. “I think I would probably run away if I did.”

“Why?” T-rex asked, confused. “Why would anyone want to run away from my mummy? She’s very lovely.”

The duck beaked baby dinosaur rolled her eyes at the t-rex and bent down to eat another leaf. “She might be lovely to you,” she said, chewing gently, “but she would think I’m as tasty as I think these leaves are.”

“Don’t be silly,” The baby t-rex replied, feeling hurt. “my mummy wouldn’t do that. She only eats dead things, and so do I. If you won’t help me find my mummy I’ll find her on my own.”

And the t-rex carried on throughout the field, looking for his mother. But the day was getting on and the sun was quite high in the sky and he still hadn’t found her. And his tummy was starting to rumble quite noisily.

“Maybe I’ll never find my mummy.” He said and sat down in the shade of another tree glumly.

“I could help you find your mother.” A voice said suddenly from above him, and he looked up to see a very large something he had never seen before, a huge creature with big wings and a great big sharp beak! The baby t-rex almost fell over in shock!

“Are you a dinosaur?” He asked as he managed to calm himself down. The great big creature shook its head.

“I’m a pterosaur.” The creature replied, “Although lots of people call me a flying dinosaur.”

“I’m a t-rex.” The baby t-rex replied, “Although lots of people don’t like them much it seems.”

“No, well, t-rex usually eat other dinosaurs. I couldn’t imagine many others liking your kind much. Would you like help finding your mother or not?”

The t-rex nodded and the pterosaur landed softly on the ground in front of him. The t-rex climbed awkwardly onto the pterosaur’s back and they flew into the air. The view from up here was splendid and the t-rex admired it in awe. What an amazing world this pterosaur had brought him into! Full of beauty and wonder, all from hundreds of feet up.

Hundreds of feet up? Suddenly the t-rex started to panic a little. He was much further up in the air than he would’ve liked, and felt very nervous. He only had little arms so wasn’t able to hold on particularly well. But the pterosaur seemed to be speeding up.

“Excuse me,” The baby t-rex called, “could you slow down just a little? I’m finding it a little bit hard to hold on.”

But the pterosaur ignored the little t-rex’s plea, and sped up even more. The third time the baby t-rex called though, his voice was lost in the air, because he was suddenly falling down, down, down. He thought he heard his mother calling him as he fell, and he closed his eyes to try to hear better…

But nobody caught the little baby t-rex.

Leave a Reply

