Yoga and eggs, a magical combination

I was all ready to write this post about the hilarity of me doing yoga, but I actually found that yoga is fun! I did three sun salutations which are basically super beginners yoga. It was kind of amusing, seeing as one of the positions was supposed to look like this:

20121207-202951.jpg

And ended up looking like this:

20121207-203457.jpg

Very elegant.

So, instead of getting to laugh at me about yoga, laugh at me because I am apparently incapable of poaching an egg. This is the way I’ve been taught how to do it for years:

Boil water. Stir the water around in a circle until you’ve got a mini water-tornado or whatever those things are called. Crack an egg into the centre and the water will spin the egg around while cooking it to make a nicely made poached egg. Yum.

Whenever I use this way, here’s what happens:

Boil water. Stir the water around in a circle until mini water-tornado appears. Crack an egg into the centre and the entire egg expands throughout the water and I end up with frothy egg white all over the place and this tiny bit of poached-yolk. Not quite as yum.

So my boyfriend decided to teach me a new method of poaching eggs. It went well, sort of, except I had no idea whether or not the egg was cooked so had to keep asking Mike ‘is it ready now? How about now?’. This method of poaching eggs had me floating the egg in a little container, but we don’t have any little containers that won’t melt in boiling water, so I used a heat-proof ladle instead. Because it was heat proof, it took ages to actually cook the egg and so the actual process of cooking involved me standing there for 15 minutes attempting to get everything else ready with one hand because the other hand had to hold the ladle.

Tomorrow I think I’ll stick to boiled eggs…

Christmas joke of the day (in case you’d thought I’d forgotten):

Q: What happens when you drop a snowball into a glass of water?
A: It gets wet!

Comedy. Gold.